Risk

verb
to expose to the chance of injury or loss

I asked my pastor for relationship advice after church today and what stood out the most was:

“Risk. But risk slowly.”

I’ve always been afraid of risk. I don’t want to get hurt. I prefer the comfort of familiarity. But is stagnation worth the “comfort”? Is it really “comfortable” to stay in the same place? Is the danger and uncertainty of relationship really worth the despair of watching my dreams fade away? My beloved pastor gently reminded me “You can’t have any meaningful relationships without risking part of yourself.” Oof. Didn’t want to hear that. But I know it’s true. I am so grateful for the wise counsel of the elders in my church. I am protected and loved so deeply.

Here’s to risk. Slow, wise, intentional risk.

Further up and further in…


Leave a comment