Belonging Somewhere

We all want to feel like we belong somewhere. It makes you feel loved. Family and circles of friends are a great example of this.

As I started attending a college orchestra, I felt funny being the new kid. I immediately wanted to get a cool lanyard and tshirt from the university. I didn’t get those two things, and I really don’t care about them anymore, but I realize now that I wanted to feel more a part of the group. It’s funny how I didn’t even realize why I wanted those things. My security should not be in material things because they will all fade away.

Being without a church home for 5+ months has really started getting to me.

The more we visit around, the more I feel like I don’t belong anywhere. I know that we are the “church” and Christ is with us wherever we are…but we are also called to be a part of a body of believers (Romans 12).

So as I feel like we are wandering around without any direction, God is showing me how important it is to cling to Him and trust Him with where He places us. In His timing.

It’s not about where I feel most comfortable as a member. It’s all about how the Word is preached and the Sacraments are delivered.

For a long time I felt like I was being pulled in three different directions. Yet God has slowly revealed His plan for us as a family. It hurts to be walking blindly and not feeling like you belong anywhere. But God is faithful and I am excited to see which mountain the Lord chooses for our “ark” to rest upon as the water recedes. : )
If you are going through a slow part of your life that feels like you have no direction…… take heart!
Jesus has you in His hands and He can handle whatever questions and decisions come your way. : )

In Christ ~


One thought on “Belonging Somewhere

Leave a comment